About Us

The Barnett group is a new team of scientists in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Rochester. We are pursuing innovation in catalysis and materials design to revolutionize the separation and functionalization of abundant chemical feedstocks. Being inherently interdisciplinary in our approach, our work bridges inorganic chemistry, materials science, and chemical engineering. We are also passionate about scientific communication and community outreach.

Check out some of our research interests, and click here for info on how to join us.


For the most up-to-date news, follow us on Twitter (@BarnettLabUR)!

May 17, 2024: Hope Silva and Paul Yoon have graduated from the University of Rochester with their Bachelor of Science degrees in Chemistry! Hope is headed to UC Berkeley for her PhD, while Paul will remain in Rochester to complete his BS/MS dual degree. We’re very proud of you both!

April 6, 2024: Congrats to undergrad Hope Silva, who has been awarded the National Science Foundation GRF, and to second-year PhD student Lucy Huffman who received a GRF Honorable Mention!

March 25, 2024: Bevan’s paper on CF4/N2 separations and CF4/CHF3 adsorption kinetics is now online at Chemical Science! Check it out here.

January 19, 2024: Welcome to our newest member, Justin Hao (UR ’27)!

January 10, 2024: The group’s NSF CAREER proposal has been funded! This award will fund our continuing work in coordination chemistry and C–H activation. Read more about it here!

November 30, 2023: Doctoral student Irin Elizabeth Aby officially joins the group. Irin holds a B.S.-M.S. Dual Degree in Chemistry from Indian Institute of Science Education and Research TVM. Welcome Irin!

November 20, 2023:  Doctoral student Lucy Huffman received the Walters Teaching Award for excellence in undergraduate teaching, and Hope Silva won a Junior Award as one of our top chemistry undergrads during her junior year!! Congratulations Lucy and Hope!

August 15, 2023: Chris’ paper in Inorg. Chem. was the journal’s most-read article during the month of July!!!

August 8, 2023: We’re thrilled that two of our own PhD students were awarded fellowships from the UR Chem Department! Bevan Whitehead takes home a DeRight Fellowship, while Lucy Huffman was named a Sherman-Clarke Fellow. Way to go!

July 18, 2023: Our first independent publication, led by PhD student Chris Hastings, was published in Inorganic Chemistry!

May 1, 2023: Hope Silva (’24), Miranda Stewart (’25) and Marina Zapesochny (’25) have all received the Schwartz Discover Grant to fund their summer research. Way to go, Hope, Miranda and Marina!

March 31, 2023: Hope Silva (’24) has been awarded a Goldwater Scholarship! Three UR chemistry majors took home a Goldwater this year, and UR nominees went 4/4 with awards for the first time ever. Read more about it here.

January 11, 2023: Miranda Stewart (Class of ’25) and Marina Zapesochny (Class of ’25)  join the group. Welcome!

November 30, 2022: We say farewell to postdoc Dr. Chandan Tiwari as he starts his new position as a scientist at Carestream. Best of luck, Chandan!

November 29, 2022: Doctoral student Lucy Huffman officially joins the group. Lucy holds a B.S. in Chemistry from Oregon State University, and most recently worked as chemist at Inpria (Corvallis, OR). Welcome!!!

September 25, 2022: Doctoral student Chris Hastings has been awarded a Weissberger Fellowship. Established by friends and family of the late Arnold Weissberger, this fellowship is awarded annually to several PhD candidates in the Department of Chemistry based on their accomplishments over the past year. Way to go, Chris!

September 19, 2022: Paul Yoon (Class of ’24) joins the group. Welcome!

August 5, 2022: As the iScholar program concludes, we say goodbye to Jolaine Galindo Betancourth as she returns to Universidad del Valle to complete her M.S. Thanks for spending the summer with us and best of luck!

June 7, 2022: Hope Silva has been awarded a Dean Marvin Fellowship to fund her summer research. Congratulations Hope!!!

June 1, 2022: Jolaine Galindo Betancourth (Universidad del Valle) joins the group for the summer as part of the Chemistry Department’s iScholar program. Welcome!

January 12, 2022: Hope Silva (Class of ’24) joins the group. Welcome!

January 1, 2022: Happy First Birthday to us! Please route all gifts through Chemistry Receiving.

May 1, 2021:  Dr. Chandan Tiwari joins the group as our first postdoctoral scholar. Dr. Tiwari completed his PhD at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev under the supervision of Prof. Ira Weinstock. Welcome, Chandan!

January 1, 2021: The Barnett Lab is a thing! Also, Jiwon Woo (Class of ’23) signs on as the group’s first undergraduate researcher. Welcome!

November 2020: In a stunning move, three graduate students officially join a lab that does not yet officially exist. Welcome Negede Alemayehu, Chris Hastings, and Bevan Whitehead!